Desert Island Jazz
Show All
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
  • 2004
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001
  • 2000
  • Sameer Gupta (2018)

    Visit Website

    (Photo by Rebecca Meek)

    Drummer and tabla master Sameer Gupta was born in the Bay Area. He's been a student of music of the streets both here and in Harlem for many years, developing an interactive dual-language proficiency in American jazz kit drumming and Indian classical music on tabla.

    Sameer studied with Zakir Hussain and Pandit Anindo Chatterjee, and was part of a deeply creative Bay Area collective, The Supplicants, with David Boyce, Richard Howell, and David Ewell. Together with Ewell, Sameer is part of Marc Cary's Focus Trio

    Today Sameer lives in Brooklyn, and is actively involved in performing, curating, producing and teaching at various institutions including the Outside (In)dia Series, the Brooklyn Raga Massive, Carnegie Hall’s Global Encounters, and the Ragas Live Festival.

    His new album, "A Circle Has No Beginning", received a four-star review in Down Beat magazine. Of the recording, reviewer Frank-John Hadley wrote "The endgame is accessibility and potentially spiritual exaltation, drawing listeners into wondrous music of sophisticated technique and emotional heft."
    Pick Artist Album Song Label
    # 1 Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus and Max Roach Money Jungle Caravan Blue Note
    # 2 Miles Davis Sketches of Spain Concierto de Aranjuez Columbia
    # 3 Charles Mingus The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady Solo Dancer Impulse
    # 4 John Coltrane Live Trane: The European Tours Cousin Mary Pablo
    # 5 Andrew Hill One for One Poinsettia Blue Note
    # 6 Wayne Shorter The Soothsayer Lost Blue Note
    # 7 Alice Coltrane A Monastic Trio Gospel Trane Impulse
    Book Stephen King, "The Dark Tower" series
    Luxury Item Moisturizer and sunscreen
    Castaways by date
    Amanda Addleman
    17 Jan
    Howard Alden
    31 Jan
    Denny Berthiaume
    07 Feb
    Roberto Fonseca
    06 Mar
    John Hanrahan
    24 Jan
    Ron Jackson
    10 Jan