Desert Island Jazz
Show All
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
  • 2004
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001
  • 2000
  • Sarah McKenzie (2018)

    Visit Website

    Hailing from Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Sarah McKenzie is a quadruple threat: pianist, singer, composer and arranger.

    After graduating from Western Australia's Academy of Performing Arts in Perth with a bachelor's degree in jazz, her next objective was to study at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts. Not only did she attend, she was granted a full scholarship. Together with the Boston Pops Orchestra, she premiered one of her compositions at Boston Symphony Hall.

    After Berklee, Sarah moved to Paris. Since then, she's worked up her road chops with performances in Monterey, Marciac, Vienna, Munich, London (where she now lives—at for least the moment) and of course, closer to home, in Sydney.

    With a couple of successful recordings on the Impulse label under her belt, Sarah is popular not just with audiences but with fellow musicians, too: when Darmon Meader of the New York Voices learned that she was going to be a desert island castaway he responded "I love her!"
    Pick Artist Album Song Label
    # 1 Oscar Peterson Night Train Night Train Verve
    # 2 Duke Ellington and His Orchestra Such Sweet Thunder Star-Crossed Lovers Columbia
    # 3 Gene Harris and the Philip Morris Superband Live at Town Hall NYC Love Is Here to Stay Concord
    # 4 Shirley Horn A Lazy Afternoon Lazy Afternoon SteepleChase
    # 5 Tony Bennett The Movie Song Album Emily Columbia
    # 6 Antonio Carlos Jobim and Elis Regina Elis and Tom Triste Verve
    # 7 Maria Schneider Sky Blue Cerulean Skies ArtistShare
    # 8 Dave Grusin West Side Story America GRP
    Book Stephen Walsh, "Debussy: A Painter in Sound"
    Luxury Item Dark chocolate
    Castaways by date
    Amanda Addleman
    17 Jan
    Howard Alden
    31 Jan
    Denny Berthiaume
    07 Feb
    Roberto Fonseca
    06 Mar
    John Hanrahan
    24 Jan
    Ron Jackson
    10 Jan