Desert Island Jazz
Show All
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
  • 2004
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001
  • 2000
  • Rick Vandivier (2006)

    Visit Website

    Rick Vandivier is a guitarist who has found inspiration in influences that stretch from Andres Segovia to Pat Metheny to Jimi Hendrix. His performances are daring, soulful, and evocative. In a recent concert review, Jean Bartlett (Pacifica Tribune; March 2004) wrote: "the amazing guitar licks provided by Vandivier cultivated a whole new threshold of wow… Vandivier opened the show with a piece which galloped the triumphant poetry of Madrid while caressing the edges of Segovia, Feliciano and Montoya. Extraordinary musicianship with plenty of sweets…" Rick has been performing and recording in the San Francisco Bay Area for the last 25 years. In addition to his work with Nate Pruitt in Primary Colors, Rick has been active in numerous other projects as a guitarist and composer, including leading his own ensemble.
    Pick Artist Album Song Label
    # 1 Oliver Nelson The Blues and the Abstract Truth Stolen Moments (Impulse)
    # 2 Thelonious Monk Thelonious Monk Quartet with John Coltrane at Carnegie Hall Bye-Ya (Blue Note)
    # 3 Paco de Lucia Concierto de Aranjuez Allegro Con Spirito (Verve)
    # 4 Pat Metheny Group The Way Up The Way Up (Nonesuch)
    # 5 Tuck and Patti Love Warriors Cantador (Like a Lover) (Windham Hill)
    # 6 Keith Jarrett The Cure Woody 'n' You (ECM)
    # 7 James Taylor Hourglass Little More Time with You (Columbia)
    # 8 Jimi Hendrix Electric Ladyland Voodoo Chile (Reprise)
    # 9 Wayne Shorter Speak No Evil Witch Hunt (Blue Note)
    Book Eckhart Tolle, "The Power of Now"
    Luxury Item An acoustic guitar built by Willie Carter, or a "luxurious all-season yurt, fully furnished, with recording gear preferred".
    Alternate Picks/Not Broadcast
    Alt 1 Charlie Haden and Pat Metheny Beyond the Missouri Sky N/A (Koch)
    Castaways by date
    George Cotsirilos
    09 Feb
    Steve Dalachinsky
    13 Apr
    Ed Klitsch
    05 Jan
    Andy Stein
    30 Mar